820-2850-A no 1 volt rails

da_muffinman

Sorry I am still learning...

So this mb gets green light on charger but no boot / no fan spin.

G3H present
PP3V42_G3H present
PP3V3_S5 present
PP5V_S5 present

PP1V05_S5 missing

I see that it is linked to the cpu but what creates PP1V05_S5?

It looks like this one has not been opened before / I do not see evidence of liquid damage yet

Thanks

jadao

Look at U7740, it has pp3v3_S5 input on pin 3,4,6 and PP1V05_S5 on the output pin #1.
1) if you have a break in the traces and pp3v3_s5 never reach the input of u7740 you will never have PP1V05_S5 at the output. So please check pins 3,4,6

2)if pp3v3_s5 is present at pins 3,4,6 of u7740, remove power and check if there is short on pin 1 (PP1V05_S5).
So please check in diode mode red on ground and black on pin-1 U7749 and let us know.

3) if there is no short and input signal present, it may be simply a bad chip u7740.
in this case replace the chip.

2informaticos

Administrator
Staff member
I don't remember to ever saw such chip soldered on MacBook boards...
As per schematic, an alternative of strong voltage divider is used.
Just a resistor divider. However you still need to get 1V05 on its output.
Check for short there.

jadao

Long time i didn't work on these boards, I simply checked on the schematic, but i don't have a board in front of me to confirm. Maybe it doesn't exist. Sorry

da_muffinman

2informaticos is correct: U7740 as well as neighboring U5101 and C7741 and U3714 are not present on the board.

Measured at R1120 in the same area, PP1V05_S0 is shorted (resistance to ground 13Ω). I do have the schematic in front of me but this rail shows up so frequently I'm not sure where to measure next - 2inform, where is the resistor divider to which you are referring?

On the other side of the board, R1827, R1826 & R1825 do not show a short to ground for PP1V05_S5

There is some corrosion around the SD_D lines