MBP Early 2013 15" Retina - Battery/Charging

CoastechNZ

Kia Ora (hello) from New Zealand!

my first post on here, I'm still a complete NOOB when it comes to board repair, but you gotta start somewhere right!

Apologies for the novel, I'm looking for some troubleshooting advice on a customer's MacBook Pro Early 2013 15" Retina that I've got here for what should have been a simple battery replacement, but I'm now thinking has a board/SMC/power problem of some sort.

Previous battery was completely shot, only held charge for a few minutes.

Ordered 'OEM' battery (Supposedly....) from a supplier that I've used before and has been pretty good to date. Seemed ok at first, Battery stats in System Report looked ok, Coconut battery looked good too. I reset SMC after installing, cycled the battery a couple of times (Charged to 100%, left charging until coconut battery reported 100%, drained it until it shut off, left for a while, re-charged to 100.....)

Customer reported a couple of days later that the battery was working great, but while discharging, at around 60% remaining it would suddenly drop to 7%. It would stay at 7% for a good length of time, maybe another hour or so, and then slowly continue discharging until it went dead. Activity report showed the sudden drop, so I didn't think it was a problem with the system reporting % incorrectly.

Customer was OK to use it like this, he was just happy that he was getting a few hours out of it on battery, until a couple of weeks later, the batter's Max capacity suddenly dropped to around 70%. So I returned that battery under warranty, and got another one. This one started out the same, (60% drop to 7%) but after a couple of cycles it started discharging consistently from 100 to ~60%, and then quite quickly from there (not a sudden drop though), and again within about a week, the Max capacity had dropped below about 80%.