A1708 820-00840-A Needs SMC reset to start macbook after lid_close

jhk753

Hello,

I'm new to macbook repair but after spilling some water on my macbook I did an ultrasonic bath of the motherboard already.
Everything works fine except after closing lid.
From the schematic, I see that there is 2 hall sensors, but playing with magnets, I can put the mac to sleep only with 1 magnet triggering the sensor on the left.

I've been wanting to dig in a bit by playing with TP for sensor and lid_open but I'm not sure how to do that cause the test point are not visible when the MB is fixed to the case. Should I just try to plug the battery to the motherboard and nothing else so I can play with hall_sensor TP and Open_Lid TP?

Also just to make sure I'm on the right track, the way I understand it:
CLAMSHELL should be detected as closed if I have LOW signal on both hall_sensor_right and hall_sensor_left, correct? Meaning if no magnet is applied, those hall_sensors should yield "high" voltage?
CLAMSHELL should be detected as OPEN if hall_sensor_right OR hall_sensor_left is HIGH so that LID_OPEN is high?

The fact that I can trigger sleep mode with 1 magnet on the left makes me think that somehow SMC_LID_RIGHT is already low... but what I don't get is, when I remove the magnet, HALL_SENSOR_LEFT HIGH should be enough for the OR gate to yield LID_OPEN.
(Just want to make sure I'm understanding correctly how this should work)

Additional information: I ran ioreg -r -k AppleClamshellState with an external monitor plugged in and it confirms.
Everything starts with "AppleClamshellState" = No
Then if I close the macbook "AppleClamshellState" = Yes
Then if I re-open the lid, it stays "AppleClamshellState" = Yes