Macbook Air 820-00164 Need U8080

MexicoTV

Hello,

New to the forum, so glad to be part of it! I have much experience with electronics but not as much with MBs though I have experience there too. This is my first time working with a shop that will hire me if I can prove I can fix boards for them.

I have gotten a macbook air with no power but green and orange light. No power but does charge. The board makes it to S0 state. PPV3V3_S0 is present but PPV5V_S0 is not. I found that the enable signal to U8080 was not present. I then found that resistor R8187 which is more a jumper was open. This jumper takes the P5VS0_EN signal from U8180 and sends it over to U8080. U8180 does have all the right voltages including the outgoing engage signal for U8080. I jumpered R8187 and found that engage signal still does not make it and it even goes missing at U8180 now too. If I measure the incoming voltages to U8180, the VCC voltage is still there but PM_SLP_S3_L begins to "blink" as if is being overwhelmed and protecting itself. U8080 does also have it's VDD. It's as if U8080 engage pin is shorted to groun and when I reconnect U8180 it messes it up too. Also after this test it seemed like U8080 was hot. U8080 doesn't measure low to ground on output, VDD, or engage pin. I believe the IC might just be dead. Is my diagnosis correct you think?

I see the IC is for sale from china but would take a long time to get here.

Does anyone have this IC on hand who can sell it to me? Even if it's from a dead board. SLG5AP1443V is the part number. Cannot find datasheet.

Thanks!

Last edited:

2informaticos

Administrator
Staff member
You have a problem on PP5V_S0 power rail.
This is the reason U8080 gets hot and PM_SLP_S3_L also pulses.
Just for test, U8080 can be shorted I/O (3-5).
If you don't have short/low value to ground on PP5V_S0 is not easy to find the problem; post the value however.
I recommend to remove U8080 first and try bypassing it (as above mentioned); just to discard it.