820-02098 - A2242 - No image

joesklar

Hi everyone, new member here.

I've worked on older Apple devices in the past, but have only worked on a few of the newer devices. I'm a hobbyist and not fixing any of these devices for a customer base. I've bought a few devices recently (M1, M2 Pros mainly) with various board faults.

This particular laptop boots, chimes etc. There is no image, backlight, or external monitor output.

This was reported as liquid damaged, but there's no obvious problem areas on the board. I notice that UP800 has no output (tested on LP800), but I guess this is due to no image?
The display connector(s) all look to be pristine. I was trying to test voltages on JP600 but could only verify pin 4 as present. Not sure where the best test points are when the screen is connected. Is there a table anywhere for nominal diode mode readings? Or am I jumping the gun and should be checking other areas first?

Any help would be much appreciated!

Kind regards

2informaticos

Administrator
Staff member
First of all, welcome to the forum!

All image and backlight signals MUST be checked with LCD connected, so isn't an easy job.
You should try to find test points using schematic/boardview.

Find and check corresponding points for pins 4, 32, 34, 38.

BTW, did you test external video disconnecting JP600?

joesklar

Good morning, and many thanks for the welcome.

I tested the external video with JP600 disconnected. Still no output.

Just for my understanding, when you say the LCD should be connected for all signal checks, does this include diode mode readings?

I removed the antena bar so that I'd have more movement in the flex cables to do testing. I found that the cable connecting to J400 has a hard crease/fold in it. I imagine this is a botched prior screen replacement attempt. It may be the source of the issues?

Pins 32 and 34 connect only to a small BGA chip and the SOC. How can I test these?