A1534 820-00244-A Not turning on

Hatwatt

Hi, this is my first post and I am a total noob so bear with me. :)

History: Was working and someone removed the LVDS cable before pushing the battery disconnect button and after that it was dead. (This is atleast how the story goes :)
No signs of liquid damage.

Charger voltage 15v and it is not taking any current. (Don?t know if the battery is full).
Don?t know what should I measure for you, so just tell me what values you want and I will gladly get them.

Here are some measurements from the board:

Q3100 Pin-8 = 14.7V
PPVIN_G3H_P3V3G3H = 14.7V
PPBUS_G3H is 8.7V

PPBUS_S5_HS_COMPUTING_ISNS = 8.7V
PP5V_G3H = 5V
PP5V_S5 = 5V
PP5V_S4 = 0 V

PP3V3R3V0_AON = 3.3V
PP3V3_G3H = 3.3V
PP3V3_S5 = 3.3V
PP3V3_SUS = 0V
pp1v8_SUS= 0V (pulsing?)
P1V8SUS_PGOOD= 0V

Any help or suggestions would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance!

2informaticos

Administrator
Staff member
LCD connector has NO voltage when board is off.
But working on that machine with battery enabled can result in really dead board.
PP3V3_G3H is present and also PPBUS_G3H is high.

Disconnect battery and check if board tries to start when connect charger.
Also try disconecting LCD screen.

"pp1v8_SUS= 0V (pulsing?)"
If really pulses, all S4/3 voltages and signals should pulse too; check that.
Start checking if you get at least one pulse at PM_SLP_S4_L.
Better to see that when trigger SMC_ON_OFF_L to ground; use R5225/26 pads.

BTW, there is no LVDS cable; panel is eDP type.
However, we understood what LVDS cable means in your post.

Hatwatt

Thanks for the quick response.

Aah, ok. Nice to know, that there is no voltage on the display connector. And the panel type.

All measurements are done with just the board and PSU. I took the board out before doing anything.

I might have wrong word for pulsing, sorry. My multimeter has a line that makes pulses and that what I have tried to describe. Other S3/4 voltages are not "pulsing" when I measured them.