820-00165 orange light, no power

JosephClampett

No fan spin, orange light regardless of battery presence on early 2015 Macbook Air. No water damage or visible corrosion. Tested with other power board.

Getting 3.47 V (instead of 3.42 V) on PP3V42_G3H, 15.1 (possibly instead of 18.5 V or at least instead of 14.85 V) on PPDCIN_G3H_ISOL using 45 W charger. I'm a bit new to this - are these values normal for these lines?

Since it seems like the onewire circuit is likely fine and just a multimeter precision thing, perhaps the issue lies with the battery circuit? I can't find much info about the specific conditions that make the orange light show up. Which general circuit should I be looking at?

Last edited:

2informaticos

Administrator
Staff member
First of all, welcome to the forum!

Good to have orange light on Magsafe; is sign that SMC works, at least partially.

No water spill, but no other history available?

Do you get 3V3_S5/SUS?

JosephClampett

Hello! Sorry for the misunderstanding. No water spill, just a few bits of dirt and hair. Customer report:
Plugged laptop in and left it for a few hours, came back and it had turned off completely. Pressed power button and machine didn't turn on. Charger light remained orange even after hours of charging.

Just made a mistake - the multimeter touched R5501 pin 1 (PPBUS_G3H) when testing PPDCIN_G3H_ISOL on R7005 pin 1. There was a spark and R7005 seems to have damage on its solder pad on board. Still has an orange light, though. Is it likely that I can just replace that resistor?

JosephClampett

(I should clarify that the top of the resistor seems fine - the black circle of 'damage' is actually on the thin solder layer on top of the pad.)

2informaticos

Administrator
Staff member
Do you get orange light with charger only (no battery)?
If yes, R7005 is good; if not, change it.

I'm still waiting you to reply my questions...

JosephClampett

PP3V3_S5: 0.5876 V
PP3V3_SUS: 0.0 V